top of page
Search
  • sammyrhodes7

A Term of Development to Last a Lifetime: My final reflection

My final reflection on my term in Ocean Conservation and Sustainability


To tell the truth, I have not always been the most enthusiastic student. In highschool I felt energised by some learning opportunities, though never truly felt like I had ‘a calling’. This changed after coming to university to study Natural Resources Conservation in Forestry. Here, I have felt like I have been thriving by immersing myself in science- asking questions, seeking their answers, and finding my passion in conservation. After five years at UBC, I have taken courses that have changed the way I see forests and have expanded my knowledge of key wildlife species, though no course has led to such development of my head and my heart as Ocean Conservation and Sustainability has.


There have been many lessons that I have learned this term that will stay with me for a long time. I have gained whole new perspectives on science communication, self expression, and the way that environmental, social, economic, and cultural dimensions of our world are connected. First, I have learned that science can be communicated in many different ways. I have had the opportunity this term to practice sharing information to different target audiences, from my world-changing professor Dr. Amanda Vincent, to children learning of the Pacific Northwest’s coastal species. This has taught me how to view the same concept from different perspectives and synthesise relevant material, a skill I can apply in many jobs and in my personal life. Second, I have found so much joy in completing my projects as I have learned to express my thoughts and concerns on issues I care about through artistic mediums. Art is really special to me. Last April, my cousin Hughie passed away. He is someone special- I miss his big laugh and bear hugs, and his passing is the hardest thing I have ever gone through. Hughie was an artist, and since he has parted my goal has been to make more art because it makes me feel close to him. This class has given me many special moments with my cousin, and I feel really proud of the things I have made with him beside me. I have found a new pathway in my brain where I connect my passion for environmental science and interest in art together to find inspiration, and I am really excited to continue exercising that outside of our course. Third, this class has expanded my understanding of ocean conservation by exploring social, economic, and cultural dimensions of environmental problems. I have learned that this consideration is crucial to accurately defining problems and identifying solutions to address its root-cause rather than proposing an action that would only be a temporary fix. Specifically, I feel called to work towards reconciling the lasting impacts of colonization in our fisheries by supporting Two-Eyed Seeing, as well as gender studies in fisheries. By changing the status of these problems, the status of our ocean will also improve by increasing diversity in our knowledge systems and fisheries, which I am confident will improve environments. I have expressed this perspective in my eportfolio through my reflection on Indigenous issues blog post and feminist fisheries policy brief.


I feel that my eportfolio reflects the way that I am emerging from the class as an ocean advocate, lifelong learner and deep thinker, as well as a seeker of outcomes and impacts. This is described on my website’s home page. These words are inspired by my professor, as I want to do more with my life and career than only produce outputs in the world. I am committed to being active in changing our ocean health. One way that I have been inspired in conservation action is through the deep relationship that I share with the ocean, as I want to protect this meaningful and life-giving place. I have displayed my special connection on my eportfolio through photos. I have uniquely added photo albums to my website under the heading “From the Field”. This includes an album of images from our field trips, as well as pictures of the ocean that I have taken that represent some of my favourite places in the world. From Keats Island on British Columbia’s Sunshine Coast to the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, I have always found comfort in this body of water that hugs the land our feet rest on. Similarly, I have hoped to share images of one activity that makes me feel a huge amount of joy on the water, which is surfing. By sharing these photos and my love of surfing, I hope to inspire others to think of special ocean places and memories that encourage the development of a conservation worldview. When we notice and relate to the world around us, I feel that we will care for it more.


I have enjoyed this class and have worked hard in it, as I want to get the most out of my last term at university and my opportunity to study ocean sciences. I’ve felt very engaged, and have especially enjoyed the opportunity to speak with such a diverse group of guest lecturers and ask questions about their work. This structure has developed my critical thinking skills and has helped me learn by practising recalling information from previous lectures and understanding it in new ways as the term progressed. I feel more comfortable asking questions publicly and believe my public speaking has improved by sharing my thoughts frequently in class. I will maintain this skill and continue building confidence by discussing these ocean issues in and outside classroom settings.


To conclude, I would like to extend my thanks to my brilliant professor Dr. Amanda Vincent, my passionate Teaching Assistant Roshni Mangar, and my world-changing classmates. It has been a joy to be in Ocean Conservation and Sustainability with you all and I am extremely thankful for the academic and personal development that has been possible this term.


Treat people with kindness and make today better for somebody else.


Best wishes and peace,

Sam


Photos from behind the scenes...

In loving memory.


29 views
bottom of page